Editing translation memory entries from the Translation Results pane
In the View or edit TM entry dialog, you can directly edit the selected translation memory entry without leaving the translation editor. You can also edit entries of remote translation memories if you have sufficient privileges. However, one translation memory may only be edited by one person at a time. Due to a significant amount of data traffic, editing remote translation memories may be slow, especially when the server has a slow outbound connection.
Note: If you want to delete an entry or insert its target translation into the target side of the translation document after the cursor position, you need not invoke this dialog, just choose Delete or Insert Target Into Translation in the Translation results pane context menu.
Note: TM entries are sorted by score, then role, then modification date. The sorting order for roles is: None, then Translator, Reviewer 1, and then Reviewer 2. The best hit is choosen when you pre-translate, according to this sorting order.
How to begin
This dialog has a shrinked and an extended view. You can switch between these views by clicking the More >> button to expand or the Less << button to shrink the dialog.
The shrinked view consists of an editing interface for editing the source and target language entry, and a series of buttons. The extended view consists of the shrinked view, an section for displaying and editing the meta-information, and a series of buttons.
memoQ shows the source language on the left side and the target language on the right side. You can edit the segment as if you were in the translation document view. Correct the source and/or the target side of the entry, and click the Commit button.
As you navigate, you will see that the meta-information displayed on the right side is changing. memoQ always shows the meta-information for the currently selected entry.
The following individual meta-information is available for translation memory entries:
•Created by: This field indicates the creator of this TM entry.
•Created at: This field indicates the creation date of this TM entry.
•Modified by: This field indicates the user name of the person who created or last modified the entry. If the entry was modified, the check box labeled Corrected is checked.
•Modified at: This field indicates the timestamp of the creation or most recent modification of the entry. If the entry was modified, the check box labeled Corrected is checked.
•Last modified role: This field indicates the user role of the person who created or last modified the entry.
•Document: If you have enabled to save the document name as you created your TM, then you see the document name from which this segment comes from.
•Corrected: This check box is checked if the entry was manually post-edited.
•Aligned: This check box is checked if the entry was created by means of alignment.
•Subject: This field indicates the subject of the translation memory. You can edit this field.
•Domain: This field indicates the domain of the translation memory. You can edit this field.
•Project: This field indicates the project identifier of the translation memory. You can edit this field.
•Client: This field indicates the client the translation memory was created for. You can edit this field.
If you have no metadata or if you wish to change e.g. the client name, click into the field next to the client, subject, domain or project. The field turns white and you can enter new metadata or change existing one.
•Previous segment: This field displays the previous stored segment in the TM to the currently selected one. If you store no context in your TM, this field is empty.
•Next segment: This field displays the next stored segment in the TM to the currently selected one. If you store no context in your TM, this field is empty.
•Context ID: This field is the unique identifier of the entry in the translation memory. You cannot edit this field.
When you are editing a translation memory, you can also edit the values of custom fields for each translation unit. Below the built-in meta-information fields, you can set values for the custom fields that are available in the definition of the translation memory. Click the Add custom fields link to invoke the Custom field properties dialog. Enter a name in the Name field. Choose the type from the Type drop-down list: Free text, Number, Date/time, Pick list (single), Pick list (multiple).
Click OK, then the custom fields are displayed. You can enter a value into the fields.
•To add a value: Choose a custom field. All custom fields that are used in the definition of the translation memory are displayed. Then, type the value in the text box. For picklist fields, memoQ displays the list of values. After you choose the field and specify the default value, click Add.
•To remove a value: Click into a custom field in the Custom fields section, and delete the text or the value.
Note: Be careful when changing the values of custom fields, because the strict and soft filters in TM settings profiles are based on these values. Careless editing of custom field values might result in losing translation memory matches during translation.
Click Edit TM to switch to the translation memory editor, and view the contents of the entire translation memory. Click the Commit button to save changes into the translation memory and exit the dialog. Clicking Cancel will close the dialog without saving changes.