Working with resources (create, delete, import, export, edit)
You can manage all resources in an uniform way through the Resource console and Project home. You can also set resources as the default ones for your local or online projects. For local projects, go to the Application menu > Options > Options > Default resources. For online projects, go to the Server administrator, connect to your memoQ server, and navigate to the Default server resources category. You can also perform certain operations on the heavy resources (translation memories and term bases) in the New memoQ project wizard. Below you will find a list of the possible operations on resources. Deviations from the standard functionality are marked.
•Create new. Use this command to create a new local or remote resource. Use the location selector to specify whether you want to create a new resource locally or on the server you are logged in to. For every resource, you can specify a name, a description and you can make the resource read-only. In the case of filter configurations, use the Filter drop-down list to select the underlying filter type. In the case of Export path rules, select whether the rule applies to files or folders.
•Delete. Use this command to delete a resource.
To remove the local copy of a server resource: Do not delete these: unpin them instead. A resource (mostly a translation memory or a term base) can be pinned and synchronized from the server. This means that the resource is downloaded from the server, and memoQ regularly synchronizes the changes between the local copy and the server copy. When a resource looks like a local one (has the 'computer' icon next to it, but it also has a server name instead of a local folder path, it is a local copy of a server resource. If you delete a local copy, you may lose the changes you made (for example, the segments you confirmed) to the resource because the Delete command does not checks if local changes need to be uploaded to the server. On the other hand, unpinning the local copy will cause memoQ to synchronize the resource first, and then remove it from the list.
Note: If you use Delete on the local copy of a server resource, it will delete the local copy only. It will not delete the original resource from the server.
•Edit. Use this command to edit a resource.
•Properties. Use this command to invoke the Properties dialog for a resource in which you can change certain information.
•Import new / Import terminology. Use this command to import content into a translation memory or a term base or import a new resource. Depending on the resource type, you can import TMX, CSV, Excel or *.mqres files.
•Export / Export to TMX / Export terminology. Use this command to export content from a resource. Depending on the resource type, you can export TMX, CSV or MQRES files.
•Set permissions. Use this command to set permissions for published server-based resources. In the case of translation memories and term bases, this is also where you can enable or disable offline synchronization.
•Remove from server. Use this command to remove a resource from a server.
•Clone. Use this command to create an exact copy of the resource under a different name for editing later.
•Share on server. Use this command to share a resource on the server. You can change the local name to a different name on the server. You can specify whether you want to keep the local resource after a successful sharing. If you have removed a resource from the server before for local editing, you can restore the last used permissions when you publish the resource again.
•Synchronize offline. Use this command to create a synchronized copy of a remote resource on your local computer. The offline copy will appear as a new row. When you made changes to the synchronized resource, use this command to synchronize the changes remotely and locally. You can remove offline synchronization and go back to online only mode if you unpin the offline copy in the list.
•Register local. Use this command to register a local translation memory. Clicking this command displays a dialog where you can browse for a local translation memory to be registered. You need to register a local translation memory to be able to use it in memoQ if it is saved on your hard drive but not registered in memoQ. This is the case, for example, if you receive a translation memory by e-mail from another memoQ user.
•Repair resource. Use this command to repair the selected resource in situations when the translation memory or term base does not perform as expected because it is corrupted after a computer crash or a similar possibly damaging event. This command activates the repair wizard that will guide you through the entire repair process.